Language Learning: Logical or Ludicrous?

As we reach the mid-semester point at Stirling, it seems like a good time for a new series of profiles of our students. As regular blog readers will know, we have students who start with us as Beginners and others who come to us with a secondary school qualification and who join our Advanced stream. We have students on our Single Honours programme and others doing French alongside another subject or subjects, everything from English to Psychology via Business Studies, Education and Law. And we have others who study French with us for a few semesters, not as part of their core degree focus but to develop their language skills and cultural awareness. And, as you’ll see through the profile posts that’ll go up over the coming couple of weeks, our students are a fascinating, diverse, international and enthusiastic group of individuals!

We’re really pleased to start this series of posts with an article by Kirstin who is studying Law at Stirling and has picked up French modules in her 2nd year:

“Initially, I thought picking up a language that I had never studied before was an absolutely terrible idea. I had no prior knowledge of French, its origins, its culture, nothing. The only French I had ever spoken was an occasional sarcastic “au revoir!” on the phone to my friends. It was something that I hadn’t considered incorporating into my degree, until the option came up the day I had to pick my modules.

The selection was vast, but my interest was limited. A lot of the modules focused on business or mathematics, topics which I was more than happy to put behind me in high school. I looked at the content and method of assessment and, whilst being slightly traumatised by the thought of taking another speaking exam, decided to investigate further.

As a law student, I figured that I had enough on my plate as it was. I didn’t have the time to sit down and learn a completely new language and conjugate verbs whilst trying to understand and apply Scots law in my other studies. Despite this, the more I researched careers in the law profession, the more apparent it became that a language was a vital component in order to practise internationally. I didn’t and still don’t know which field of law I want to practise in, but being able to speak more than one language significantly increased my chances of being considered for commendable roles in the international sector of law.

For French, most companies required a minimum B1 qualification in the language. As certified by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, this ultimately means that the language can be spoken without too much strain for the learner or native speaker. They are able to communicate spontaneously about a range of topics and participate in everyday conversation. Seems easier said than done! This was daunting to read at the time. Nevertheless, it was something to work towards, and whilst I knew that I wouldn’t achieve this straightaway, the opportunity to try was there and I knew I would be disappointed if I didn’t. So, after much deliberation I concluded that I would, in fact, try. I reinstalled Duolingo (we all know how that ends), ordered my textbooks and prepared for my first seminar.

The class went okay, I was relieved that we were all on the same level in that we were all starting from the bottom of the ladder. I am aware that it was an introductory module I had signed up for, but even so, the thought of being the one who knew the least was a prevalent one. They were easy to follow and steady paced, a lot of revision took place of the previous weeks’ content, which I was very thankful for! The classes themselves are certainly far better than those I had in school, due to their independent nature. As valuable as the teachers are, I found it a lot easier to ask questions about my own study as opposed to the entire group’s, a common trait found in secondary classroom learning. There is definitely a difference in attitude towards language learning at university, the teacher is an asset, a tool to your own independent study. They are not relied on for spoon-feeding purposes. While they are beneficial in providing support, much of the learning is individual. It is up to yourself to choose to learn the grammar, practise pronunciation and generally do the work.

As the weeks proceeded, I found learning French was more of a hobby than necessity to my degree. It was an enjoyable process which I used as a wind-down from other study. I wanted to learn more and work harder, not because I was told to, but because I enjoyed the problem solving and challenging nature of the course. The best way to explain it is that it felt like I was working a different part of my brain, I didn’t have to worry about the legality of irregular verbs, just learn them. It must be noted that an accelerated course is not something that can be achieved easily, there is a certain level of commitment that must be sustained. But, in keeping up with the classes and staying on top of the work, it is rewarding. 

It is easier to say all of these things than demonstrate them of course, everyone has moments where they don’t understand and want to quit. I think overall learning a language is something to keep chipping away at. It will be frustrating and some things will be forgotten now and again, I myself am terrible at pronouncing consonants, but it is something that I want to work at and improve. If nothing else, it is important to keep an open mind and take it easy on yourself when mistakes are made, and learn from them. If all of that fails, the image of myself strolling through the streets of Marseille and ordering coffee like a pro is a pretty good incentive to keep at it.

So, to answer the question in the title, logical or ludicrous? Both! It will get me where I need to be, it is a life skill and a potential asset to my future career. It is also a lot of work, extra stress and ultimately, effort. But! It is invaluable professionally and socially, and I couldn’t be gladder that I started.”

Many, many thanks to Kirstin for taking the time to write this post and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time studying French with us, and are able to put your language skills to good use in your future career!