From Languages to Law Enforcement…

Another chance to catch up with news from a recent Stirling Languages graduate: Amy Wylie graduated with a BA Hons in French and Spanish last year and is about to embark on a career in the police…

“I feel extremely privileged to have spent four fantastic years at Stirling studying French and Spanish and I would do it all over again in a minute! I first became interested in the idea of going to the University of Stirling as most of my friends at school were planning to stay at home and commute to the University of Glasgow or Strathclyde University, whereas I felt I would like to move away and gain some independence. I liked the fact that Stirling gave students the possibility to alter their degree combination further down the line, if for some reason they decided to change direction, something I know that the other universities don’t usually offer. First year at Stirling was definitely one of the best years of my life so far. I met wonderful people, had great times and I loved learning to balance my social life, studies and menial tasks.

As for my course, I can confidently say that the tutors of both French and Spanish were all incredible. They put so much time and effort into their classes and I personally loved the oral classes. We always had interesting topics to discuss and if you were lucky enough to get a good group it was also a lot of fun. It was a shame that we only managed to fit in one hour per week.

2016 Wylie Cordoba
Cordoba

I was fortunate enough to spend time in both France and Spain as part of my degree programme. I took part in the British Council Assistantship before commencing my third year and then I took part in the Erasmus programme in my sixth semester. I could spend all day talking about my time spent abroad as I had an amazing time but I will let you trust me on that one. Since graduating quite a lot has happened in terms of my plans for the future. I actually went back to France to work as an English Language Assistant again, but I ended up coming home in November due to personal reasons. I’m actually not so sure that teaching is for me anyway and so I don’t feel that I missed out on too much.

2016 Wylie Saumur
Saumur

Since coming home I have applied to become a Police Officer. I have always been interested in law enforcement and I love the prospect of an exciting and challenging career. After the probationary period I hope to specialize and maybe become a dog handler. It would be ideal if I could use my language skills but I will have to wait and see if that will be possible. Even if I don’t manage to use my languages in the Police I am confident I will continue to speak them. I have made a lot of friends abroad whom I keep in contact with and I am working in a Spanish Tapas Bar/Restaurant where I am constantly speaking Spanish with my colleagues. Overall, I had an excellent experience at Stirling and I look forward to seeing what the next few years have to offer. If I decide in the future that I would like to study for a Masters, Stirling would definitely be one of my choices!”

Thanks to Amy for sending us news and best of luck for the years ahead.

2016 Wylie Graduation

